Home IGIER  
 

 

SEMINARS 2000 

Thursday, December 14, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Klaus Schmidt (University of Munich)
"Endogenous Incomplete Contracts"

Tuesday, December 12, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Giovanni Peri (IGIER-UniversitÓ Bocconi and EUI)
"New Ideas in the World: Brains, Laboratories and Knowledge" (joint with L. Bottazzi)

Tuesday, December 5, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden (UniversitÚ de Lausanne, HEC)
"Corporate Finance, Dominant Investors, and Transparency"

Thursday, November 30, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Giampaolo Arachi (UniversitÓ. Bocconi)
"The effect of taxes on corporate financing decision: evidence from a panel of Italian firms" (joint with J. Alworth)

Tuesday, November 28, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Tito Boeri (UniversitÓ Bocconi, Fondazione RDB)
"Union Membership, Firing Restrictions and Wage Compression in Equilibrium Unemployment" (joint with M. Burda)
CANCELLED

Thursday, November 23, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Marciano Siniscalchi (IGIER-Princeton University)
"Efficient Sorting in a Dynamic Adverse Selection Model: the Hot Potato" (joint with I. Hendel and A. Lizzeri)

Thursday, November 16, 2000, at 12.30 p.m. (together with Centro Luca D┤Agliano)
D. Ulph (University College London)
"Information Sharing, Research Co-ordination and Membership of Research Joint Ventures"
(joint with G.Barba Navaretti, P. Bussoli, G. von Graevenitz)

Tuesday, November 14, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Fausto Panunzi (UniversitÓ Bocconi)
"Agency Conflicts, Ownership Concentration and Legal Shareholder Protection" (joint with M. Burkart)

Thursday, November 9, 2000, at 12.30 p.m. (together with Centro Luca D┤Agliano)
Anthony Venables (London School of Economics)
"Economic geography and international inequality" (joint with S. Redding)

Tuesday, November 7, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Ernesto Savaglio (UniversitÓ Bocconi)
"Social Preferences, Equity and Non-Expected Utility"

Tuesday, October 31, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Andrea Ichino (Istituto Universitario Europeo)
"Are Judges Biased by Labor Market Conditions? The Selection of Firing Litigations for Trial in a Large Italian Firm" (joint with M. Polo e E. Rettore)

Thursday, October 26, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Juan F. Jimeno (Universidad de Alcala and FEDEA)
"Youth Cohort Size and Unemployment in Spain: An exploration of macro, regional and micro data "

Tuesday, October 24, 2000, at 12.30 p.m.
Antonio Menezes (Fondazione RDB)
"Job Upgrading, Job Creation and Job Destruction"

Tuesday, October 17, 2000, at 12.30 pm
Pietro Garibaldi (UniversitÓ Bocconi, Fondazione RDB)
"Unattachment to the Labor Market" (joint with E. Wasmer)

Tuesday, October 10, 2000, at 12.30 p.m. (together with Centro Luca D┤ Agliano)
Georges Siotis (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)
"External factors in emerging market recoveries: an empirical evaluation"


Thursday, October 5, 2000 at 12.30 p.m.
Francesco Giavazzi (IGIER-UniversitÓ Bocconi)
"Italian Labor Force Participation: Disguised Unemployment on Campus" (joint with R. Dornbusch e A. Gentilini)


Tuesday, October 3, 2000 at 12.30 p.m.
Tito Boeri (UniversitÓ Bocconi, Fondazione RDB) and Guido Tabellini (IGIER-UniversitÓ Bocconi)
"Would you Like to Shrink the Welfare State? The Opinions of European Citizens" (joint with A. B÷rsch-Supan)


Tuesday, September 26, 2000 at 12.30 p.m.
Marco Maffezzoli (UniversitÓ Bocconi)
"Non-Walrasian Labor Markets and Real Business Cycles"


Thursday, September 21, 2000 at 12.30 p.m.
Elisabetta Magnani (University of New South Wales)
"Unionization, short-run flexibility and cost efficiency: Evidence from US manufacturing" (joint with D.Prentice)


Tuesday, September 12, 2000 at 12.30 p.m.
Eliana La Ferrara (IGIER-UniversitÓ Bocconi)
"Preferences for Redistribution in the Land of Opportunities" (joint with A. Alesina)


Tuesday, May 30, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Enrique Alberola (Bank of Spain)
"On the Evolution of Relative Prices and its Nature at the Regional Level: The Case of Spain" (joint with JosÚ M. MarquÚs)


Thursday, May 25, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Richard Baldwin (Graduate Institute for International Studies, Geneva)
"Agglomeration, Integration and Tax Harmonization" (joint with Paul Krugman)


Tuesday, May 23, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Thomas Hellmann (Stanford University)
"Venture Capital and the Professionalization of Start-Up Firms"


Tuesday, May 16, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Adam B. Jaffe (Brandeis University)
"Market Value and Patent Citations: A First Look" (joint with M. Trajtenberg)


Thursday, May 4, 2000, at 2.30 p.m.
Ricardo Lagos (London School of Economics)
"Crime, Inequality and Unemployment" (joint with K. Burdett and R. Wright)


Thursday, April 27, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Thierry Foucault (HEC School of Management, Paris)
"Imperfect market monitoring and SOES trading" (joint with A. Roell and P. Sandas)


Tuesday, April 18, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Alessandra Casarico (Universita┤ Bocconi) and Carlo Devillanova (Universita┤ di Trieste)
"Social security and migration with endogenous skill upgrading"


Thursday, April 13, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Riccardo Calcagno (Tilburg University)
"Asymmetries of information in centralized order-driven markets" (joint with N. Boccard)


Thursday, April 6, 2000, at 4.30 p.m.
Fabrizio Coricelli (UniversitÓ di Siena)
"Monetary Institutions, Monopolistic Competition, Unionized Labor Markets and Economic Performance" (joint with A. Cukierman and A. Dalmazzo)


Tuesday, April 4, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Juan Dolado (Universidad Carlos lll de Madrid)
"Explaining Youth Labor Market Problems in Spain: Crowding-Out, Institutions, or Technology Shifts?" (joint with F. Felgueroso and Juan F. Jimeno)


Thursday, March 23, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Bruno Biais (IDEI, UniversitÚ des Sciences Sociales de Toulouse)
"Psychological traits and trading strategies" (joint with D. Hilton, K. Mazurier and S. Pouget)


Tuesday, March 21, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Gary Hansen (UCLA)
"Malthus to Solow" (joint with Edward C. Prescott)


Thursday, March 16, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Eli Remolona (Bank for International Settlements)
"The Term Structure of Announcement Effects" (joint with Michael J. Fleming)


Thursday, March 9, 2000, at 1.00 p.m.
Jacques Thisse (CORE)
"Price competition when consumer behavior is characterized by conformity or vanity" (joint with I. Grilo and O. Shy)


Thursday, March 2, 2000, at 12.40 p.m.
Herschel I.Grossman (Brown University)
"Educational Policy: Egalitarian or Elitist?" (joint with M. Kim)


Monday, February 14, 2000 at 12.40 p.m.
Vincenzo Galasso (Universidad Carlos Terzero, Madrid)
"Early Retirement"


Thursday, February 10, 2000 at 12.40 p.m.
Giuseppe Ferraguto (Universita┤ Bocconi)
"Growth Under Habit Formation and Keeping Up With the Joneses" (joint with P. Pagano)


Thursday, January 20, 2000 at 12.40 p.m.
Marco Pagano (Universita┤ di Salerno)
"The Political Economy of Corporate Governance" (with P. Volpin)
 



Last updated March 26, 2003